RESLW Chapter 27

Chapter 27 Visiting Maternal Fourth Aunt At Maternal Grandmother’s House

    Qi Yao had never heard such a severe accusation from Ouyang Xun. She was surprised and frightened, “I……I didn’t. “

    “Qi Yao, I don’t care whether you did it intentionally or unintentionally. I hope you will not target Mei Xiaoran again in the future……If you continue to be stubborn, I believe that no one in our family will welcome your family again. ” At last, he added, “By the way, tomorrow is the Mid Autumn Festival. You don’t have to come over tonight.”

    Qi Yao was taken aback. She is not allowed to come at the Mid Autumn Festival? How could that be?

    Over the years, her mother has always regarded her Cousin-Uncle’s house as her own maternal family. On the Mid Autumn Festival in August, she will obviously made a trip that night only to appear swiftly in front of the two elders of the Qi family for a short while, then hurriedly took her over to Ouyang Xun’s home……Because Ouyang Xun’s family has a very luxurious Mid Autumn Festival, not to mention mooncakes, even all the food, whether it was available in the market or not, can be seen in Ouyang Xun’s home. Their living standards have only improved in the past two years. When they were still short of food in the previous two years, Ouyang’s family could already serve meat from time to time on the dining table. On this basis alone, she did not want to outwardly have a fall out with Ouyang Xun. After all, it was profitable for her.

    “Older Brother Xun, I will remember what you have said today. I will not target Mei Xiaoran again in the future.” Thinking of those benefits, Qi Yao had to bow her head. She really didn’t want to offend Ouyang Xun.

    “I’m glad you can accept it. Keep in mind what you had said today. Don’t let me down again.”

    Mei Xiaoran doesn’t know anything at all about Ouyang Xun’s lesson to Qi Yao. Although the English test in the morning self-study affected her mood, today is Saturday after all. School will end at 5:30 in the afternoon, and there is also no evening self-study.

    After school, Mei Xiaoran and her mother went to her Maternal Grandmother’s house, mainly to see Li Mingye.

    After a few days of recovery, Li Mingye’s spirit at least had recovered, but her face is still very pale. She even got somewhat excited when she saw Eldest Sister was coming over with Mei Xiaoran.

    “Maternal Fourth Aunt, I have come to see you.”

    That day, Mei Xiaoran had helped to force-feed the soapy water to Li Mingye. Li Mingye saw her and spatted, “This little scoundrel, failed to bury your Maternal Fourth Aunt alive?”

    “Hehe. I’m only doing what the elders instructed me to do.” Thinking of that scene where she force-feed Maternal Fourth Aunt, Mei Xiaoran felt funny.

    Li Mingye rolled her eyes once and said, “Go, go, go. You only know to laugh at your Maternal Aunt.”

    Mei Xiaoran laughed and ran to find Maternal Little Uncle, Li Hongwei to play.

    “Maternal Little Uncle, what are you looking at?”

    When she ran to Maternal Little Uncle’s room, Mei Xiaoran found that he was hiding something under the pillow, just in time for her to catch him.

    Her Maternal Little Uncle, Li Hongwei, is two years older than her. He is in the third year of junior high school just like Ouyang Xun. However, Li Hongwei’s study is not that good. It is estimated that he will not be admitted to senior high school after finishing junior high school.

    “Maternal Little Uncle, what are you hiding actually? If you don’t want to tell me, I’ll go and talk to Maternal Grandfather then. “

    Li Hongwei waved his fist to his niece, “Ranran, if you dare to tattle, see if I will beat you or not!”

    The Li family’s son and daughters are all good-looking. Although Li Hongwei is the only son, he also has a handsome appearance. With big eyes, high nose bridge and a youthful look just like Ouyang Xun. He is also a good-looking and dashing lad. His only drawback is that his skin is darker, which he inherited from Maternal Grandfather Li.

    The Li family’s son and daughters’ skin tone, some of them are black and some of them are white. Li Mingyun, Li Mingqin and Li Mingyue, these three elder ones, all have a white skin tone as Maternal Grandmother Li. Mei Xiaoran also inherited her mother’s skin tone. But the remaining three younger ones, Li Mingye, Li Mingli and Li Hongwei, have a darker skin, especially Li Hongwei, who is a boy himself, has an even darker skin.

    Their appearances were also special. Li Mingyun, Li Mingyue and Li Mingye all looked like Maternal Grandfather Li, with small noses and small eyes, that kind of a delicate type. However, Li Mingqin, Li Mingli and Li Hongwei looked like Maternal Grandmother Li with their thick eyebrows, big eyes, pretty features, which could be considered as the beautiful type. By comparison, Li Mingli is the most extremely outstanding one. With her mother’s appearance and her father’s skin color, even though she is not as white as her elder sisters, she is much whiter than Li Mingye and Li Hongwei. Coupled with her beautiful facial features, she is really eye-catching. Although she is the same age as Li Hongwei, she has been recruited into a textile factory as a female worker because of her beauty and has begun to earn her salary.

    Mei Xiaoran had the closest relationship with Maternal Little Aunt in her previous life. Going to Maternal Grandmother’s house was also to look for Maternal Little Aunt to play, but it turned out that she hadn’t got off from work yet……According to Maternal Grandmother, the textile factory is now running two shifts. She is on the day shift this week, from 8:00 in the morning to 8:00 in the evening. At this time she is not off from work yet, so Mei Xiaoran comes to play with Maternal Little Uncle.

    Li Hongwei was forced by this Eldest Niece and had no choice but to pull out the novel from under the pillow, “Here, here. This is it.”

    When Mei Xiaoran saw it, it turned out to be Jin Yong’s martial arts novel ‘The Legend of the Condor Heroes’. “Maternal Little Uncle, so you are hiding in your room to read martial arts novels?”

    Li Hongwei was so scared that he hurried to cover her mouth, “Don’t speak carelessly. If your Maternal Grandparents heard it, they will clean me up.”

    “Haha. So, Maternal Little Uncle, there’s also a time when you get scared?”

    Mei Xiaoran never thought about reporting Maternal Little Uncle at all. It’s only a martial arts novel. Who hasn’t read it? At this age, the spiritual and cultural life is not yet abundant. A generation like theirs, were exactly spending their teenage years reading through novels. Maternal Little Uncle’s choice is a normal one.

    “I’m listening to them too. You know your Maternal Grandmother is always nagging me all day long to study hard. Aren’t I just afraid to be found out by her and it will make her upset?”

    Li Hongwei introduced to Mei Xiaoran, “This novel is really interesting. I guarantee that you will not be able to forget it after reading it. You should also read it.”

    “Maternal Little Uncle, I know this novel is hard to find. Where did you get it?”

    An honest man says nothing deceitful, so Mei Xiaoran just gets to the bottom of it.

    “With the interpersonal relationship that your Maternal Little Uncle has, only to find a few books, isn’t it just an easy task……But I have to finish reading it quickly. The person is still waiting for me to return the book. People who want to read this book are all queued till National Day*. “

    (TN : National Day of the People’s Republic of China, is celebrated annually on October 1 as a public holiday in the People’s Republic of China, commemorating the establishment of the People’s Republic of China.)

    Mei Xiaoran laughed, “Maternal Little Uncle, you are already in the third year of junior high school this year. What are your plans?”

    “I have no plan. Based on my study, I definitely won’t be able to get into senior high school. I don’t want to waste that energy too. I’ll just finish this year first.”

    Li Hongwei knows that he is not really suitable for studying. Not only him, but also his twin, his older little sister Li Mingli, also can’t study well either……Taking advantage of the textile factory’s recruitment, Li Mingli will attend the school anymore this spring, but he still has to stay on the school ground and have finish it even if he have to muddle through his days.

    “Maternal Little Uncle, it will do you no harm to study more. You will know about it when you step into society later.”

    Li Hongwei was not happy and ordered her to leave, “I am your Maternal Little Uncle. Do you also want to teach me a lesson? Hurry up and leave. Don’t disturb my reading here. “

    Mei Xiaoran walked two steps towards the door and stopped again. “Maternal Little Uncle, let’s forget about it today. Tomorrow is August 15. I will continue to bother you. If you don’t want me to bother you, you must prepare two big pomegranates for me.”

    “Oh, I really give up. Your nose is really sharp*!”

(TN : Generally speaking, for Chinese people, those with sharp noses belong to those who are quite resourceful. Sometimes they are even mistaken because of their intelligence.)

    Li Hongwei reluctantly took out a big pomegranate from the drawer and stuffed it to her, “Don’t let your Maternal Grandfather see it. It will make his heart ache if he sees it!”

I have been enjoying translating this story. I choose this story, at the first place, was because I wanted to read about Mei Xiaoran’s journey, how she grow up while creating and managing her businesses. Second, it is a fun and light read. While translating, I also became nostalgic when some of the story’s event resembles my past’s, like, for example that wrapping book event hahaha. But since the story is too long for me to translate now (950++ at the time I post this chapter), and I have one more story that I’m currently also translating, which was shorter, only 100++ chapters, while I also wants to finish at least one story so I decided (with a heavy heart) that I have to put this RESLW on hiatus for now. Maybe someday I will pick this up again Edited on February 2021 : I wanted to continue this translation but I just realized that the author stopped updating it (maybe on hiatus?). Thank you for RESLW readers that had been accompanying me through this…err, journey? Hahaha. Anyway, please check out my second translation (the only one I’m working on right now, as I found that I have so little spare time to translate while taking care of two little buns). A little introduction then.

After Transmigrating into a Short-lived White Moonlight, had a HE with the Villain (ATSWM)

Sang Yuanyuan transmigrated into a sadistic romance ancient fantasy novel, becoming the male lead’s ill-fated beautiful white moonlight that died early.

The male lead loves her, the male supporting character loves her too.

The female lead was injured and broken-hearted because being loved, trampled and abused by all men for she had a face that was similar to hers. The relationship with male lead was full of twists and turns, tortured between life and death, and finally had a HE (Happy Ending).

Sang Yuanyuan : “ I’m sorry, I 一 first don’t want to die, second don’t want to be abused. So I choose to run away with the villain. Excuse me, goodbye.”

The villain squinted his long eyes, with a lazy posture and lips smiling like a spring breeze——

“Besides me….are nothing but hell.”

She contemplated for three seconds.

“Does the hell have land?”

“….. there’s a wasteland.”

“Does it have water?”

“…… only blood.”

He wants to see her panic and lose her head, waits for her to scream and escape, but after blanking for three seconds the woman’s eyes instead shine faintly.

“What a good opportunity to try a new variety!”

“……”

He who always lingers in the deepest darkness, has never thought that there would be a person who can fill a whole wasteland with flowers and grasses.

Wood elements fairy healer X Violent Cold Blooded demon king.

Here is the first chapter, and here is the Table Of Contents. Thank you so much and see you on ATSWM!

Prev |TOC | Next

3 thoughts on “RESLW Chapter 27

  1. Seemanta

    I’m really sad and I hope you’ll pick this up again when you have more time or you finish the other novel. I really love this novel. Thank you so much for these chapters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pomelo

      Yeah, I second this as another fan of this novel. Come to think of it, though, there are only two of us in the comments so far… 🥲

      Like

Leave a comment